Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Navigating the Lincoln Lawyer Books in Order: A Comprehensive Guide



The world of legal thrillers has seen its fair share of renowned authors and captivating stories, but few have left as indelible a mark as Michael Connelly with his Lincoln Lawyer series. With gripping courtroom drama, complex characters, and intricate plots, these books have become a staple for legal thriller enthusiasts. In this comprehensive guide, we will take you on a journey through the Lincoln Lawyer series, helping you to understand the chronological order of these gripping novels.

The Genesis of the Lincoln Lawyer Series

Before diving into the Lincoln Lawyer books in order, it's essential to understand their origins. Michael Connelly introduced the character of Mickey Haller in his 2005 novel, "The Lincoln Lawyer." This instalment marked the beginning of a remarkable journey that would span several books. Haller is a criminal defence attorney who operates from the back seat of his Lincoln Town Car, hence the moniker "Lincoln Lawyer."

The Lincoln Lawyer Books in Chronological Order

Now, let's explore the Lincoln Lawyer books in the order they were written and how each contributes to the overarching narrative:

1. "The Lincoln Lawyer" (2005)

This is where it all begins. In this debut novel, we are introduced to Mickey Haller as he takes on the case of a lifetime. Haller's career takes an unexpected turn when he becomes embroiled in the defense of a wealthy client accused of a brutal crime. As the story unfolds, readers are drawn into a web of deceit, courtroom drama, and moral dilemmas.

2. "The Brass Verdict" (2008)

"The Brass Verdict" follows the events of "The Lincoln Lawyer" and brings another iconic character into the mix - Harry Bosch, a well-known detective from Connelly's other series. In this novel, Haller and Bosch join forces to solve a high-profile murder case while navigating the complexities of the legal system.

3. "The Reversal" (2010)

In "The Reversal," Mickey Haller is appointed as a prosecutor for a change, tasked with seeking justice against a convicted child molester. The story explores the challenges of Haller switching sides and the moral dilemmas he faces while trying to secure a conviction.

4. "The Fifth Witness" (2011)

This instalment delves into the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis as Mickey Haller takes on foreclosure defence cases. Amidst the chaos of the recession, Haller defends a woman accused of killing a banker, shedding light on the financial struggles many Americans faced during that time.

5. "The Gods of Guilt" (2013)

In "The Gods of Guilt," Haller represents a digital pimp accused of murder. The novel explores the impact of technology on criminal enterprises and the legal challenges it presents. Haller also grapples with personal demons, adding depth to his character.

6. "The Crossing" (2015)

"The Crossing" is a crossover novel featuring both Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch. The two iconic characters team up once again to solve a complex case involving a brutal murder, adding another layer to their dynamic partnership.

7. "The Law of Innocence" (2020)

In the most recent instalment of the Lincoln Lawyer series, Haller finds himself in the most precarious position yet—defending himself against murder charges. The novel explores the legal intricacies of defending oneself in court and the challenges Haller faces while proving his innocence.


Navigating the Lincoln Lawyer books allows readers to appreciate the evolution of Mickey Haller as a character and the complex legal dilemmas he encounters throughout the series. From his debut in "The Lincoln Lawyer" to his latest adventure in "The Law of Innocence," Michael Connelly has crafted a compelling narrative that keeps fans of legal thrillers eagerly turning the pages. Whether you're a seasoned fan or new to the series, these books promise a riveting journey through the world of criminal defence and courtroom drama, all from the back seat of a Lincoln Town Car.

Post a Comment for "Navigating the Lincoln Lawyer Books in Order: A Comprehensive Guide"